# COATESVILLE AREA SCHOOL DISTRICT SPECIAL BOARD MEETING MINUTES BENNER EDUCATION CENTER AUDITORIUM APRIL 12, 2013 – 10:00 A.M.

#### **OPENING ACTIVITIES**

# 1. CALL TO ORDER AT 10:06 A.M.

# 2. <u>PURPOSE OF THE HEARING</u>

The purpose of the special meeting will be to consider and approve a Tax and Revenue Anticipation Note.

# 3. READING OF MISSION STATEMENT

THE MISSION OF THE COATESVILLE AREA SCHOOL DISTRICT, A LEARNING COMMUNITY RICH IN DIVERSITY AND COMMITTED TO EXCELLENCE, IS TO EDUCATE ALL STUDENTS BY PROVIDING RIGOROUS EDUCATIONAL OPPORTUNITIES TO BECOME RESPONSIBLE, PRODUCTIVE, LIFE-LONG LEARNERS IN A GLOBAL SOCIETY.

# 4. ADVISEMENT

By notice of the President, Board Members are advised that all votes shall be regarded as roll call votes. The minutes should also note that public notice was given for this meeting in accordance with Act 93 of 1998, Section 1. School Board meetings shall proceed in accordance with School Board policy.

# 5. <u>ROLL CALL</u>

# **Board of School Directors**

Doard of School Directors	
J. Neil Campbell, President - present	(Operations Committee)
Richard M. Ritter, Vice-President- present	(Finance Committee)
Diane M. Brownfield - present	(Education & Community & Student Relations Committees)
Joseph E. Dunn, Jr present	(Finance & Operations Committees)
James L. Fox - present	(Education & Community & Student Relations Committees)
Paul L. Johnson - present	(Operations Committee)
Laurie C. Knecht – present via Telecom	(Operations Committee)
William A. Sweigart - absent	(Finance & Education Committees)
Dr. Tonya Thames Taylor - absent	(Finance & Community & Student Relations Committees)

#### **Administration**

Richard W. Como, Superintendent of Schools - present Dr. Angelo Romaniello, Jr., Assistant Superintendent | Board Secretary - present Dave Krakower, Director of High School & Curriculum Instruction | Special Education (6-12) - absent Jonette Marcus, Dir. of Elem. & Curriculum Instruction (K-2) | Prof. Dev., Public Relations & Title 1 - absent Jason Palaia, Director of Elementary Education (3-5) | Special Education (K-5) - absent Dr. Teresa Powell, Director of Middle School & Curriculum Instruction - absent John Reid, Director of Pupil Services | Data Assessment - absent Abdallah Hawa, Director of Technology - present Erika Zeigler, Director of Human Resources - absent

#### **Solicitor**

James E. Ellison, Esquire - absent

# 6. <u>MOMENT OF SILENCE AND SALUTE TO THE FLAG</u>

# PUBLIC COMMENT ON AGENDA ITEMS

The Board has requested all persons making comments on <u>agenda items</u> to list their name, address, telephone number and motion item(s) on the sheet provided. There is a three minute limit per person. The Board does not take action or discuss items not appearing on the agenda. The Board values public comments and wishes to convey that although Board members cannot discuss items that are not on the agenda, they listen carefully and appreciate and value input from the public.

#### None

# MOTION ITEM(S) FOR APPROVAL

# Tax and Revenue Anticipation Note, Series 2013

**RECOMMENDED MOTION:** That the Board of School Directors adopts a resolution authorizing the issuance of a Tax and Revenue Anticipation Note, Series of 2013, of the Coatesville Area School District, Commonwealth of Pennsylvania in the maximum principal amount not to exceed \$11,000,000; establishing the terms, conditions and form of such Note; accepting a proposal to purchase the Note; providing security and establishing a sinking fund for the Note; appointing a paying agent and sinking fund depository; authorizing certain officials to execute and deliver the Note and to prepare and file certain certificates and other proceedings. The Board of School Directors hereby ratifies all actions and votes taken relative to the issuance of said Note at its special meeting of April 9, 2013.



Motion: Rick Ritter Second: Diane Brownfield Vote: 7-0-0

# **PUBLIC COMMENT**

The Board has requested that all persons making comments of public concern to list their name, address, telephone number and topic(s) on the sheet provided. There is a three (3) minute time limit per person.

# None

# ADJOURNMENT

This meeting was adjourned at 10:10 a.m. on a motion by Paul Johnson and seconded by Diane Brownfield.

Respectfully submitted, *Karen Jackson, Recording Secretary* 

Dr. Angelo Romaniello, Jr., School Board Secretary

If any Board Member or member of the public wishes to review the minutes verbatim, please contact the School Board Secretary and make arrangements to come to the District Office and listen to the meeting tapes.